Old Dominion

The Commonwealth of Virginia is also known as ‘Old Dominion’ and borders the Blue Ridge Mountains and the Chesapeake Bay. Richmond is the capital, Virginia Beach the largest city and Fairfax County the largest Virginia metropolitan demographic area. Virginia has a population greater than eight million.

Virginia was one of the 13 Colonies in the American Revolution and a member of the Confederacy in the American Civil War. The Virginia General Assembly is the oldest state house in the Americas. Computer chips are the state’s leading export.

Virginia is bordered by Maryland to the north and east and West Virginia to the west. It sits atop North Carolina and a bit of eastern Tennessee and borders Kentucky to the immediate west. Shaped kind of like you would draw some mountains, on the east side of the peak in the north of Virginia are Washington DC and Arlington Virginia where Arlington National Cemetary and the Pentagon reside. Other famous areas of Virginia include Lynchburg in the center of the state and Norfolk and Williamsburg.