Smart movers have some resources to protect themselves from unscrupulous movers.
Moving companies in Georgia are required to hold a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity. As of July 1, 2005, the Georgia Public Service Commission (PSC) became the state agency responsible for certifying movers and enforcing state regulations regarding the handling and moving of your household goods. The rates of licensed professional movers must not exceed those published in the Maximum Rate Tariff. Unlicensed movers operating outside the law may provide little or no protection for loss or damage to your property.
The PSC’s authority extends to ensuring that an intrastate company is operating within the transportation rules and the tariff. On their web site, in the Transportation section, you will find a list of the licensed professional movers doing business in Georgia, as well as a helpful Moving Guide with tips for avoiding problems when you move.
When planning a move, you can check the reputation and complaint history of various companies with the PSC, the Better Business Bureau, the Georgia Movers Association and the American Moving and Storage Association. You might also want to visit the MovingScam.com web site.
Mark the Mover has been Atlanta Movers for 32 years.
All household goods shipments are moved under limited liability. You may purchase additional liability coverage from your mover if desired.
Should you have a grievance concerning your move within the state of Georgia, you must first submit a written claim within 90 days to the carrier, which in turn has 90 days to resolve the matter. If your complaint against a Georgia moving company is not resolved, the PSC can assist you unless:
- The point of origin and destination are within the city limits of the same incorporated municipality. In this situation, if you have pursued a claim unsuccessfully with the carrier, your complaint must be dealt with in magistrate court or through a private attorney.
- The point of origin or destination is in another state.
For further information or assistance, please contact:
Georgia Public Service Commission
244 Washington Street, SW
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Toll-free in Georgia: 800-282-5813
Metro Atlanta: 404-656-4501
Any complaints or ongoing claims against a carrier in a state-to-state move should be filed with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, which operates under a somewhat different set of rules. In this case, claims for damage must be filed within nine months after delivery. The mover must acknowledge receipt of your claim within 30 days and must either deny it or make you a settlement offer within 120 days of accepting the claim.
The Governor’s Office of Consumer Affairs (OCA) handles complaints against movers that involve violations of the Georgia Fair Business Practices Act, such as false, misleading or deceptive advertising. You may contact OCA to report a suspected violation of this nature.